The Power Of Words

My name is Juliana Salamone and my Modernist Project is titled “The Power Of Words

~Poetry In The Style of War-poets”. The medium consists of poetry and quotes by three different authors. My Poetry Anthology consists of modernized poems in the style of war-poets. I took another author’s poem and took their structure, style, theme  and wrote a poem myself with a more modernized theme of the 21st Century and kept the style of my poem the same. All poems are by Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon and T.S Eliot. Poems and Quotes by Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon & T.S Eliot. All quotes include a meaning on the backside of them which really helps show what the authors were thinking at the time.

During the nine weeks of working on this project and finding research for my topic I went through some times when I did not entirely know what I was doing. First, I chose a topic on photography and I chose to make a replica of photos in the 1920s and show how photos have changed from then and now. I spent about two weeks trying to work on this topic until I realized at the third week that I didn’t want to do it anymore. I love photography, I really do but I found that it would be much more interesting if I had chose to create poems in the style of other authors during the time of the Great War. So that is what I did. During the third week of the nine weeks we had to work on the project I began to work on my writing. A few weeks later I had written a poem in the style of Wilfred Owen’s, ‘Dulce Et Decorum Est’. My poem was called, ‘His flower’ which was a poem about Suffering in an abusive relationship. This related to Wilfred’s poem because in his had witnessed somebody suffering and he couldn’t do anything about it. A few ways that I stretched myself, challenged myself was that I chose to break one of the author’s style in my writing. In Siegfried Sassoon’s, ‘Suicide In The Trenches’ he wrote about the brutality of trench warfare.

In this image, a mother is placing flowers at the World War 1 cenotaph. During the War, the bodies of the ones who died or killed themselves were never found. Therefore, there was an empty tomb/monument of flowers left in honour for them. 

Each stanza has a certain amount of syllables while one does not have the same as the others. In my poem called, ‘Because Of You’ I use the same technique with the syllables but end up breaking it to make mine a little different. This made me feel successful in my writing because not only did I learn how to write poetry in different styles, I learned how to write poetry in my own type of style to make it ‘my poem’. The thing I am most proud of about my project is how much hard work and effort I put into my writing and taking notes on the Author’s lives and analyzing their poems. I know my project is not a big, visual, piece but I do think what I do best is on paper rather than doing any kind of poster or 3d art. Some skills I developed was learning how to write in a stronger more efficient way. I learned how to write in a specific theme/setting and write something other than free-verse. Doing this, I learned that I really like to write but I need to expand my writing and have know different techniques of writing so I know how to write different things. It’s like reading. The more you read, the better you are at knowing more words and understanding stories. The more I write, I get better every time I pick up a pen and a piece of paper.

In my project I used the different perspectives of people who experienced the war or witnessed it right beneath their homes. Some elements of Modernism that are represented in my project is the mood of the period of time in the poem, the way the author felt while writing his piece, and the symbolism of different things. One of the authors I studied, T.S Eliot wrote a poem in 1922 called, ‘The Wasteland”. This poem was one of the longest poems written at the time but for my project I decided to use the first two stanzas of the first section of the poem. In the stanzas I used Eliot explains how the Month April is cruel and how Winter is not. In my poem I used the same theme with the seasons but used flowers in the season of spring too explain and symbolize how the flowers took away all of the attention from the post-war and how the flowers took away what was left of humanity. Understanding the different perspectives these authors had during the time of the Great War helped me see what they saw through their poetry. T.S Eliot’s perspective of the post-war and the Wasteland of it made me see how deep and destructive writing can really become. Symbolically, my project represents modernism to show how much of an impact these poems made on society, and how they represented different types of things like Depression, Suffering and Emptiness.

Not everyone understood exactly what each poem written during the time of Great War meant but people started to understand that others have different perspectives of the war. Many believed that the soldiers were all filled with pride, happiness, and joy that they volunteered to help the country but not until a few weeks into the war, their perspectives had changed. The Great War caused the soldiers to become very weak, very tired and they even started to drink alcohol to get rid of the pain. Many people didn’t understand what it was like to be in the war either, they cheered for the soldiers while they marched by yet they didn’t really know what was going 0n inside of their heads. Many soldiers also thought that it was a blessing that they didn’t know how the war felt. Siegfried Sassoon even said in his poem, ‘Suicide In The Trenches; “Sneak home and pray you’ll never know, the hell where youth and laughter go.”

Leave a Reply

