STEM Self Portrait Physical Piece Reflection

For the past couple of months we have been working on an Algebra/Chemistry Identity project and many of us have been working at different paces and have different projects that explain our different identities. At times, while working on my project, I had difficulties understanding which information I had to know to understand Universal Indicator and how pH works. This problem wasn’t too hard to solve. Google is a great source when you have questions, but so is your mentor.

One complex chemistry concept I learned while working on my project were the words Basic, Neutral, and Acidic. On the pH scale, a strong basic color can come out as being a dark color of purple. A strong Acidic color can be a darker red or orange like color. As for Neutral, the color is green at a pH range of 7.

While working on mixing the colors together to find the right color I ended up having an orange like red for two of my mountains, a light green for the biggest mountain and a mixture of blue and purple for the oceans. It took a lot of experimenting but it was a very fun very cool experience. Here is me mixing colors for the my ocean:

FullSizeRender (2)

Another Chemistry concept I learned while doing this project is that you must be safe while using different substances and chemicals. In this picture I used gloves to make sure that nothing got in contact with my skin because it can burn and I pulled up my sleeves of my sweater so that nothing gets onto my clothing because it can stain. Being safe while working on an experiment is important because you’re learning the way that a scientist learns, and scientists have to take these safety precautions too, not only you.

FullSizeRender (4)

In the end, I believe that I have made a lot of progress with this project. Usually in school teachers tend to do more group projects which help you become a better leader and learn to work with different people but I think Individual projects are more interesting and fun, especially this one. In this project we got to teach ourselves like we were our own teachers while still getting the assistance that we needed and we got to find out more about ourselves, thing we didn’t even know. Also, while working individually for a project you can really see your strengths and weaknesses and it is up to you to improve your work. It’s your project, nobody elses, and I think that’s what’s really cool about it.

Leave a Reply

