Bruce Museum Exhibition

In the Innovation lab Exhibition located at the Bruce Museum on February 2nd 2016, I displayed my STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) project which was called “Highland Flood Zone.” Below are images of my work before the exhibition:  

The first image with the blue/green background is my Desmos piece. In that piece, I include mountains, a spine, and an ocean. I also include some grass to separate the ocean and from the mountains and the spine.

In the second Image I created a replica of my Desmos piece. With the green and blue trapezoids on the bottom I created the ocean from my Desmos piece. Which explain different types of writing since I enjoy writing poetry. Sometimes the ocean could be calm and soothing so therefore it can connect to poems I write that are simple and filled with joy, brightness, and love. And other times the ocean can be vicious and filled with power so it can connect to poems that I write that are filled with darkness and depth. And ironically, my writing can be very deep as well as the ocean. While working on this project I tried my best to have both pieces connect to each other and have the ocean symbolize the depth of my writing. From my Desmos piece to my Physical piece I included the spine with extra things surrounding it such as a dream catcher to represent always reaching to my goals and creating goals. I also added a cloud with rain falling down to show how my emotions are pouring down on me, sometimes creating floods. On the bottom I have half of a butterfly, half of a ear, which is the tailbone of my spine and the butterfly is used to show my love for nature and being outdoors and the ear with music notes besides them is drawn there to show my love for music as well. On the top, I remade the mountains which represent strength and growth and the whole theme of my physical piece is that; “No matter how high the flood gets, the flood of emotions and feelings, I will always be growing, always reaching for my goals.”

If interested in checking out the math part of my Desmos Image and seeing how I made it check out this link:

https://www.desmos.com/calculator/u86xnogvwp

Before the exhibition (that went from 6:30-8:30) the Innovation lab team and I took a short trip to the Bruce Museum to set up our work. Putting up everyone’s art pieces and projects from both the STEM and Humanities Modernism project was so exciting. After setting up my work and helping others out I started to feel very nervous for the Exhibition, but I also felt very proud. This project was a long term project, working on them since November, and each and everyone of us in Innovation lab put so much work, time and effort into our artwork. Each and every one of us had different types of projects, relating to our different kinds of personalities and identities. Here is what the exhibit looked like after we set up all of our work:

There were so many fantastic pieces and everyone had so much fun displaying their work to the community. One piece that I really loved was Emma’s project. Unfortunately she moved and now goes to another school but we still displayed her work because it is actually amazing, and also very beautiful:

emma.jpg

I know that a lot of people liked her piece and it was still known and seen by other people even if she wasn’t there to explain or talk about it, people still walked by and read her Museum card because of how interesting it was.

During the exhibition we had the choice of displaying our Modernism English/History projects, our Identity STEM projects, or both. I decided to display my Identity project because I loved how it turned out and it was a more recent project that we have done in Inlab. Before this exhibition, our Innovation lab team has been working on the Identity projects since November. This means that we have been working on our projects for two months. Before the exhibition, a lot of times I was stressed and had problems with time management. During the time of Midterms I was struggling between whether or not I should’ve been studying for a test or finishing up the last things I had to do for the exhibition. Another struggle I had was coming up with a name for my piece. At first I didn’t know exactly what I would name it, I wanted it to connect to the mountains and the ocean but I couldn’t think of a good enough name. Until I realized that the name could’ve been something completely insane or strange or random and nobody could understand it but you. The title you name your piece would still be good, because the “Identity Project” is about explaining who you are and what represents you and explains your Identity. Therefore I named my piece I know that a lot of people asked me to elaborate more after reading my Museum card and the title of my piece because they did not quite understand. After I explained my piece more, many more people understood and finally saw my artwork through my eyes and my point of view.

My artwork also included many different little images and colors and that’s what also caught the audiences eyes the most. I received many questions about how I created my Desmos background and what the colors symbolize and how my project connects to my Identity and my personality. Below is an Image of my Desmos before I added any of my math functions or images on top:

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

To create this board my friend Katherine and I created this together. To create the turquoise color we both mixed yellow and blue together and we both created different textures and used the paintbrush to create splotches around the sides. I made my piece this color to represent the ‘Flood Zone’ part of my title. The texture in the center represents waves while the splotches around the sides were made to create more of a design to my piece.

Many people also asked me how I liked Innovation lab, and how my project connects to both Science and Math. In both pieces, I include my understanding of Math and Science in both of my two different boards. As I answered these questions I explained how one board included my math part of the project while the other board included my science part of the project. Many people didn’t understand exactly so explaining my work a lot seemed to help and people became more and more interested as they heard more and more of the process and how I created my artwork. In my Physical Piece I include a chemical change by using pH and universal indicator to create different colors with different kinds of chemicals. If you would like to learn more about how I created my Physical piece you can read more about it here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/10socROL_L0DOEuG5q9RxoAEbIhJof9fhxB9bYCtv2IU/edit?usp=sharing

 

 

While speaking to different people I learned that I am not as nervous as I used to be speaking in front of people. This exhibition helped a lot with my public speaking skills and became so much more relaxed when people not only asked me questions, but also told me that they loved my piece and explained the things they liked the most about my piece, which was honestly such an incredible thing to experience. I remember Dr. Goldin coming by asking me how nervous I was from a scale of 1-10 and I responded 2, and she said that I don’t look nervous, I look like a natural and I’m very confident and I’ll do great. This was also very helpful because it reduced my nervousness by a lot. When people asked me about Innovation lab and how I like it and how it’s different from regular classes I explained how the teacher to student connection is stronger and the smallness of the program is also a great thing because it really helps the teachers and the students focus on what they need to do and what they need help on and to work with each other more often. I also explained how the projects that we do are not just a project that might last a week or two weeks in a regular class but these projects we do, usually last for a good amount of time and the amount of time we are given really helps us plan our projects and figure out what we are going to do and do our best on it so that we do not stress out too much. During the exhibit, I also saw many people come by and take pictures of my artwork and other peoples artwork, interviewing some people, students were explaining their pieces to the people and they all seemed as if they were very impressed, which many people were.

The exhibition itself changed my perception of myself as a scholar and professional by a lot. As a result of the amount of people who came to talk to me about my work, and me being able to speak without stuttering or saying “um” or “like” too many times, the exhibition has made me become a better speaker. While people were asking me questions about my work it was if I was being interviewed even if I wasn’t and usually during interviews I would get very nervous and I would walk around back and forth or side to side due to nervousness but this time I did not. I talked clearly, loud enough for people to hear, and I answered questions with no problems. This exhibition also showed me that if you put in all of your effort into things whether they are goals or projects, you may get something good out of all the effort and focus you put into your work. It’s like that quote; “Plan your work then work your plan”. This whole project began with a plan and working your way up to the plan. I feel that if I did not plan how I was going to set up my work, or my drafts of my artwork I wouldn’t have been able to make what I had made that was displayed at the exhibition. I am very proud of my artwork and I’m very proud of how I created it and how I connected my work to my writing, and reaching goals, and my emotions.

If I could’ve changed one thing about my piece, I would’ve added a poem or two onto my Desmos board or on the link of my Physical Analysis Description because I know that many people had asked me about my writing they wanted to read some of it but unfortunately that was not a part of my project. Therefore, I decided to add in some of my poems that I’ve written and will be shown below:

Overall, I believe that I did a very good job and I’m very proud of my work. I really loved the experience and being able to display our work in different environments and atmospheres. I really hope that we do something like this again in Innovation lab.

 

 

Leave a Reply

